Welcome to the website of the School of Social Sciences.

The School of Social Sciences of the University of Genoa was born in 2012, on the ground of the new Charter Laws which came into effect after the issuing of the L. 240/10, also known as “Gelmini Law”.

The Schools are "Coordinating Structures between more Departments, grouped according to criteria of affinity in their branches of knowledge or inner organization" (Clause 43, Sect. 1 of the Charter). The School's task is to coordinate and rationalize the didactic activities of the depending structures. The School has the management of all shared facilities. The School of Social Sciences gathers four Departments, arisen both from the merger of the previous Departments and from the “old” Faculties, keeping their denominations and inheriting their prestige.

The school brings together 4 departments:

The schools and departments are established with the Constitution Decree DR n 175 of 31.5.2012.

The school has offices in different parts of the city of Genoa. The Law Department is divided into two locations, the Palazzo dell'Università in Via Balbi and at the educational center of the former Albergo dei Poveri. The Department of Economics is located in the Darsena area, near the port. The DISFOR has offices both in Genoa and in Savona, while the DiSPI is mainly located in the educational center of the former Albergo dei Poveri.