The School of Social Sciences of the University of Genoa was born in 2012, on the ground of the new Charter Laws which came into effect after the issuing of the L. 240/10, also known as “Gelmini Law”.

The Schools are «Coordinating Structures between more Departments, grouped according to criteria of affinity in their branches of knowledge or inner organization» (Clause 43, Sect. 1 of the Charter).

The School’s task is to coordinate and rationalise the didactic activities of the depending structures. The School has the management of all shared facilities. The School of Social Sciences gathers four Departments, arisen both from the merger of the previous Departments and from the “old” Faculties, keeping their denominations and inheriting their prestige.